Magic in real life…

As some of you know, I’m doing my first “Open to the public” show in Worcester in a couple of weeks. Yay! First of all, big thanx to Emilie Poulin, (owner of “The Q” ) for giving magic a chance. Here’s hoping for the start of a live magic renaissance in MA. Now that I think about it I was going to talk about what I’m going to do there, but I’m going to shift gears today and talk a little bit about why.

Magic is something best experienced live. TV is a fantastic medium for reaching mass amounts of eyeballs (and mass amounts of dollars ;). In fact, I’ll freely admit that I wouldn’t have found my first love for magic if it weren’t for seeing David Copperfield, Penn and Teller, Max Maven and other magicians on TV. But there’s something about magic trapped in a little glass box that detracts from the full emotional impact. Yes, TV magic can be amazing to watch, but you don’t get the same “kicked in the gut” feeling that you get when someone does something impossible right in front of you. The problem is, there’s unconscious assumption that there’s something ‘fake’ about magic on TV. Impossible, imaginary things constantly happen on that little box. We’ve grown up learning that what’s on TV isn’t real. So much so that seeing a tiger on a Harley come out of a previously empty shoebox seems interesting, and cool, but it just doesn’t have the same ‘oomph’ as seeing it live. If you’ve seen a famous magician both on TV and live, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

On the other hand, when you see a signed card jump to the top of the deck over and over again, a foot from your face, you get a deep, satisfying, “WTF?!” moment. As a magician, that’s what I live for. I LOVE experiencing that feeling myself, and nothing gives me greater joy than to share it with others. It’s so rare in our culture to be faced with something truly inexplicable. If you’re a skeptic/rationalist, you have one set of tools to cope with the unknown. If you’re religious and more faith-based, you have another set. Live magic is so wonderful because it’s designed to break down those tools and make them useless. When magic is truly done well, it brings you back to a child-like sense of wonder and amazement. As much as you try, you can’t get a handle on what’s ‘really’ going on, and all you can do is sit back and lose yourself in the moment. It’s something truly magical.

I’d like to make a career out of magic. I really would. It’s fun to do and I’ve always loved making people happy. I also recgonize that it’s very difficult to make a full-time living doing any performing art, never mind magic. So it may or may not work out for me. Either way, I don’t think I’ll ever ‘give up’.

Magic done well is a rare and wonder-full thing, and we live in a world that needs a lot more wonder.

(If you want to catch my show, I’m at The Q on Dec. 2nd at 7pm. It’s a $10 cover charge and first come, first served. There’s limited space, so plan on being there a little early. If you’re on facebook you can check the event details at Dezrah Magic at the Q  Thanx!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic

Leave a Reply

