After a short break…

Hi there! Due to the fact that I’ve been couch-bound by some nasty bug the past couple of weeks, I’ve been on a mini-hiatus. I’m feeling significantly better, and I’m hoping to get back on track. So what’s the news? My last full post: “Scott’s Psychic Predictions for 2008” Was a huge success! We reached a record for one-day hits on 1/1/08 with 269 page views. Amazing. Either a) people are really starting to enjoy what I’m writing and telling their friends, or b) the words “psychic”, “prediction” and “2008” are fantastic google-bait for New Year’s.

Either way, I hope I entertained a few of you, and gained some new readers. It’s a piece of spectacularly bad timing that I got hit with the flu immediately after my most popular post so far, but I won’t complain too much. 😉

So, what have I learned? Well, writing on a topic that is already popular is sure to get you some hits. This is not really news, but it was so clearly demonstrated to me by the events of the past few weeks, that it’s given me pause. What do I want out of this blog? Readers? Page views? A place to rant/vent? A chance to educate? Entertain? A creative outlet? My prediction post made it pretty clear that I can get more page views by merely creating catchy article titles and capitalizing on over-popular topics. That approach is…unsatisfying at best. I think that I do have things to say. they may be funny, educational, serious, etc. but I don’t yet have a unifying voice for them all.

I wanted this blog to turn into a very clear, focused platform for me to speak out about skepticism and the psychic world, but I’m not sure that I’m that focused of a person. So, I think from now on, we’re going to go for more of a hodge-podge of ephemera rather then laser-focused nonsense bashing.

(unless there’s some particular nonsense that y’all want bashed 😉

So, thanks for reading, and I hope you will all continue to join me as I try and re-discover my “voice” it should be fun.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “After a short break…

  1. mike baker

    don’t forget to have have fun every once in awhile.

Leave a Reply

