NaNoWriMo 2009 – Dezrah Edition

     Here we go, the first entry in my own little version of NaNoWriMo. I’ve tried (and failed) at writing a novel for NaNoWriMo on at least 3 separate occasions. This is due mostly to a) my pathological inability to finish anything I start and b) my unremarkable inability to write convincing dialogue. I won’t subject you to any examples, just take my word for it.
 
     So, if I can’t write fiction, that doesn’t leave me many options for novel-length prose. I suppose I could write historical fiction, but frankly, I’m too lazy for the research needed for such an undertaking. I’m too incompetent to write pure fiction, and too lazy to write history, so that leaves me with only one choice, poorly researched editorials coupled with personal opinion pieces.
 
     In other words, no change at all from the previous contents of this particular blog.
 
     I still think that the purpose of NaNoWriMo stands up to my particular situation however. Yes, most people use the excercise as a reason to get cracking on that novel they’ve been thinking about, but at the end of the day, the idea is to START WRITING! No more excuses, no more procrastintion, very little editing, just sit down in front of the computer and start creating. I’ve needed a good kick in the pants to get me started, and this seems like as good of an excuse as any.
 
     With that in mind, I’ll be taking the next few weeks to write 1 blog entry per day, of at least 300 words, for the month of November. No simple links and “look at this crazy cat video” posts for me. I need to create some kind of actual content. I have a few ideas kicking around, but if you’ve got something you want me to mull over and get all self-righteous about, let me know!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2009 – Dezrah Edition

  1. Scott

    If it makes you feel better, I finished the NaNoWriMo requirements five years ago, but the novel sits unfinished on my zip drive. I have continued in fits and starts over that time, but still find myself about 25 pages from the end.

Leave a Reply

